Monday, October 5, 2015

Ramsey Lewis Take Another Look-Deluxe Edition

Back in 2011 Ramsey Lewis released Take Another Look.  It was a CD going back to his electric band roots of the 1970s.  What I like to call the 'Sun Goddess' Era.

The deluxe edition released in 2015 has three bonus songs 'Jungle Strut', 'Tambura', and 'Sharing Her Journey.' This CD takes me back to my younger days when my parents played their Ramsey Lewis records.  Below you can see Ramsey talking about how the CD Take Another Look came together.

Track  Listing:
1.  Intimacy
2.  Tambura
3.  Love  Song
4.  Living  for  the  City
5.  Betcha  by  Golly  Wow
6.  To  Know  Her
7.  The  Way  She  Smiles
8.  Jungle  Strut
9.  Sharing  Her  Journey
10.  Sun  Goddess
Bonus  Tracks:
1.  Jungle  Strut  - Dr.  John
2.  Tambura  -- Kung  Fu
3.  Sharing  Her  Journey  - TAUK

I like the mixture of  songs on this CD.  There's something for everyone. This is a great CD to listen to while relaxing or hanging out with friends and family this holiday season.  And for the Ramsey Lewis or jazz music fan in your life this would make a great gift.  It's never too early to start thinking about holiday gifts. 

Speaking of holidays, my first introduction to Ramsey Lewis was his Sound of Christmas album as a child.  It wasn't officially Christmastime until that album was played in our home  and I still feel that way.  I bet once you hear this CD it will be on heavy rotation in your home too!

Any Ramsey Lewis CD would be an excellent addition to your music library.

Disclaimer: This post contains affiliate links. I received this CD free for an honest review. The opinions are my own and results may vary. I received no monetary compensation for my review.

Tuesday, July 21, 2015

Repair & Protect Your Hair From Sun Damage-Tuesday Tip


I have done so much damage to my hair.  It became lifeless and brittle.  I could feel and hear it snap while combing.  For the past 3 weeks I've been using Pantene's Pro-V Overnight Miracle and Ultimate BB Creme haircare products.

                                                   Haircare products, Panten Pro-V

The Overnight Miracle works on my hair overnight while I sleep.  Just apply to the hair and go to sleep.  It's that simple! The Overnight Miracle dissolves in the hair quickly and doesn't leave any residue on the pillow.  Ovenight Miracle erases at least 6 months of damage.

Pantene Pro-V, Haircare Products

The Ultimate 10 BB Creme is for use during the day.  It's a 10 in 1 hair perfecter.  It strengthens hair, has frizz control, protects hair from heat styling.  It can be used on wet or dry hair.

I've noticed a lot less breakage and my hair is less dry and easier to manage.  I will continue to use these two products together.  I think these products are a must for the summer especially if you are spending a lot of time in the sun.  Use these products daily to repair and protect your hair from sun damage. Find out more about these and other Pantene products at

Tuesday, July 14, 2015

Summer in Chicago! Tuesday Tip

Buckingham Fountain
Buckingham Fountain

If you follow me on Twitter (@dancingvalentin) or know me just a little bit, you know that I love Chicago.  I was born and raised there.  We are getting ready for our yearly trip there! Chicago has been in the news a lot lately because of the violence that plagues the city, but there's more to Chicago than that.  That is why I love the city so much.  It has more to offer than you may hear.

Recently, I've been inspired by Choose Chicago's campaign Beyond the Loop. Two Second City members go into various neighborhoods around the city to show that there is more to Chicago than the Loop, Magnificent Mile and Navy Pier.

President and Mrs. Obama's home in Hyde Park

The first episode I saw was for Hyde Park.  

Hyde Park is my favorite neighborhood.  I just feel like I can exhale, be myself and enjoy the sights and sounds of the neighborhood.  Also, this is where President and Mrs. Obama's house is located.  In Beyond the Loop they visit Medici and Valoris (one of President Obams's favorites), but if you want to celebrate the diversity of Hyde Park you must go to Rajun Cajun. Rajun Cajun is a combination of soul food and Indian food restaurant. 

Beyond the Loop goes into other neighborhoods I've lived in like Lincoln Park and my second favorite neighborhood Lakeview. See a little bit about the Gay Pride Parade in Lakeview (Boystown) below.

Our Winters Are Brutal!  

We know how to do summer because of our winters.  Here are just a few things to while you are there.  Taste of Chicago is my favorite outdoor festival.  It's a chance to sample food from various restaurants and food trucks in the city and to hear some great music.  Gospel Festival and various festivals in the neighborhoods happening every weekend.  Another great way to explore the neighborhoods in Chicago.

But wait! There's more!
You should also check out the MCA Tuesdays On The Terrace, Blues Fest,  Millennium Park Summer Film Series and the Chicago Jazz Fest

There are a few things I know I'm doing once I get home to Chicago. 

The first is going to the Chicago Cultural Center  for Move Your Body:  The Evolution of House Music exhibit. and the second is to visit one of my new favorite restaurants Batter & Berries.  You can read my review for Batter & Berries here. Third I want to visit Maggie Daley Park. Named after the late wife of Mayor Richard Daley.

Taste of Chicago

I know I've missed some things.  When I lived in Chicago I felt so overwhelmed with things to do in the city, especially in the summer. Just check out the City of Chicago website and for more things to do in this wonderful city!

Friday, June 12, 2015

G.H. Cretors Chicago Mix Popcorn Review (It's not Garrett Popcorn, but still good)

I live in Toronto, but I'm a Chicago girl. To me Chicago is a fantastic city known for its architecture, live theater, wonderful people (like me) and of course the food. When you think of Chicago food, deep dish pizza immediately comes to mine. We are also known for what's called the "Chicago Mix." That's a mixture of cheese and caramel popcorn.  If you're a Chicagoan and you hear the words "Chicago Mix" Garrett Popcorn comes to mind.

When I'm home I always try to go to Garrett Popcorn. Why?! Because it's the best popcorn ever! That's where the "Chicago Mix" was born. Recently Garrett Popcorn has had to stop using the name "Chicago Mix" because of a lawsuit by a company called Candyland. Candyland holds the trademark for "Chicago Mix." They had to change the name to "Garrett Mix". But I still call it "Chicago Mix." Shhhhh! Don't tell anyone!

I was very happy to find G.H. Cretors' "Chicago Mix" here in Toronto. I was amazed at how close it was to the "Garrett Mix." The caramel popcorn definitely reminded it me of Garrett's "CaramelCrisp."  It was sweet, buttery and just yummy.  The cheese popcorn could have been cheesier, but when you put the two together....heaven.

Chicago Mix

G.H. Cretors' "Chicago Mix" is the closest brand I've tried that tasted like Garrett's.  When I ran out of it, I made a special trip to the store to get more.  I hope that the store continues to sell it. It's like having a little piece of home with me in every bite. 

Their popcorn is gluten-free and contains non-GMO ingredients. Another reason to like them, right?! Check out G.H. Cretors' website for more flavors. You can also like them on Facebook, follow them on Twitter, Pinterest and Instagram!

Please feel free to connect with me on Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest and now finally I'm on Instagram!  Have you tried G.H. Cretors Popcorn?! What did you think?!

Tuesday, June 9, 2015

Be Motivated To Keep Moving With Fitbit Zip-Tuesday Tip

Just want to briefly tell you about my favorite fitness tool, the Fitbit Zip. I cannot walk around or work out with out it. Fitbit Zip is a device that clips onto your clothing and keeps track of your steps and calories burned each day while moving or at rest. I have enjoyed using this product. 

I'm motivated to keep moving!

I don't want to stop moving because then the little face on the Fitbit sticks it's tongue out at me. I want to keep it smiling and the more I move the bigger the smile. It has this thing called the dongle that fits into a USB port on your computer. It syncs up with your Fitbit Zip. There you can see reports on calories burned, calories eaten and steps taken. 


My account is synced to my Fitbit account. 

So I log in the food I eat on and it transfers to my Fitbit account. If you are looking for a way to accurately calculate the calories you are eating and burning, the Fitbit Zip is for you. My next purchase will be the Fitbit One.  It's a step up from the Zip and also has a sleep tracker. You can purchase the Fitbit Zip or One at or go to to find out about their other products. Fitbit makes a great Father's Day gift.

Disclaimer: There are affiliate links in this post. 

Friday, June 5, 2015 Website Review

 Published originally on February 18, 2015.

I enjoy staying fit and FitnessBlender.Com is always part of my workout routine. I've been doing their workouts since they only had 30,000 Facebook likes. Now they have over 250.000! I actually reviewed them a few years ago. Check out that review here. recently released a new website.

The new website contains over 300 workout videos and some great new features like My Calendar.  Workouts can be added to the calendar directly. (See picture below) The days with the dots are where I've added workouts.  Just click on the day and it takes you to your workout. The thing I like the most is that you can add purchased programs to the calendar.  That makes them easier to follow. Unfortunately, none of the previously released ebook programs can be added to the calendar, it's only the FB Programs listed on the site. (see above picture)

My Calendar
You will still be able to purchase the ebook programs. I reviewed the meal programs last year.  You can find the review here. Also included on the website are recipes and a blog.  There's nothing to pay except when you buy the meal and fitness programs.  They are great at keeping prices low and the quality high. You still get over 300 workout videos for free. 

Find out more at You can also connect with them on Facebook, Pinterest, Twitter and Instagram.

Update 6/5/15:

I've been doing the FBAbs Workout Program and I have seen some great results.  I'm on my second round now.  Below is a screenshot of my schedule. This program is easily added to the calendar. All I do is click on the day and it takes me to my workout for the day.


Here's an example of a workout. This is what I did this morning!


Have you tried any of's workouts or meal plans?! Let me know what you think.  Please go to my contact page to find out how to connect with me!

Tuesday, June 2, 2015

I'm Greek-ing Out for the New McDonald's Salad Bowls-Tuesday Tip

I don't usually go to McDonald's but I saw recently that they have added new things to the menu. Well, the first thing that honestly caught my attention was the Red Velvet Oreo McFlurry.  I have a terrible sweet tooth.  Anyway, after I drooled over the new McFlurry, I saw that McDonald's has new salad bowls 

I decided to try one out last week.  I had the I'm Greek-ing Out Salad.  I was actually surprised at how big it was.  You can have grilled or crispy chicken on the salad.  I got the grilled.  It was delicious with the Greek salad dressing. It was so filling, it's all I had for dinner.

The I'm Greek-ing Out Salad is only 280 calories.  The Greek salad dressing is 140.  There are two other salads that I will have to try, Head Over Harvest and Keep Calm, Caesar On. Find our more about the salads and other menu items by going to