Search This Blog

Loading...

Saturday, July 5, 2014

Toronto here I come!

I will be MIA for awhile.  We are moving to Toronto and won't have internet for a few weeks. So the blog will be on hiatus for awhile.  I'm hoping to see a lot of Toronto and try much of the cuisine.  That means plenty of reviews, right?!
Toronto's CN Tower
So it's goodbye for now and I will see you soon;-)

Tuesday, June 17, 2014

Sweet Home Chicago!

Chicago!


If you follow me on Twitter or know me just a little bit, you know that I love Chicago.  I was born and raised there.  Chicago has been in the news a lot lately because of the violence that plagues the city, but there's more to Chicago than that.  That is why I love the city so much.  It has more to offer than you may hear.

Recently, I've been inspired by Choose Chicago's campaign Beyond the Loop. Two Second City members go into various neighborhoods around the city to show that there is more to Chicago than the Loop, Magnificent Mile and Navy Pier.

President and Mrs. Obama's home in Hyde Park



The first episode I saw was for Hyde Park.  Hyde Park is my favorite neighborhood.  I just feel like I can exhale, be myself and enjoy the sights and sounds of the neighborhood.  Also, this is where President and Mrs. Obama's house is located.  In Beyond the Loop they visit Medici and Valoris (one of President Obams's favorites), but if you want to celebrate the diversity of Hyde Park you must go to Rajun Cajun. Rajun Cajun is a combination of soul food and Indian food restaurant.




Beyond the Loop goes into other neighborhood I've lived in like Lincoln Park and my second favorite neighborhood Lakeview. As of this post the Lakeview episode wasn't available..

The best time to visit Chicago is in the summer.  We know how to do summer because our winters are so brutal.  Here are just a few things to while you are there.  Taste of Chicago is my favorite outdoor festival.  It's a chance to sample food from various restaurants and food trucks in the city and to hear some great music.  The MCA Summer Jazz Series, Blues Fest, Gospel Fest and various festivals in the neighborhoods happening every weekend.  Another great way to explore the neighborhoods in Chicago. Here are some more ideas: 14 Ways Ferris Bueller Would Spend His Day Off in 2014, Chicago Summerdance, Night Out in the Parks and the Chicago Jazz Fest.


Taste of Chicago

I know I've missed some things.  When I lived in Chicago I felt so overwhelmed with things to do in the city, especially in the summer. Just check out the City of Chicago website and ChooseChicago.com for more things to do in this wonderful city!

Monday, June 16, 2014

$100 Visa Gift Card Giveaway







Co-hosted by:









One lucky winner will win
Just in time for summer fun!


$100 Visa Gift Card



June 16  To June 30 11:59pm EST.




Valid only in the Continental United States.

Void where prohibited




18 years or older to enter/only 1 entrant per household

Winner is chosen through random.org




All entries are optional.



All winning entries will be verified.


Good Luck!





Disclaimer: The Elements of Review  is not responsible for the awarding of the prize. If you have any questions about this giveaway, please email the host at nysavingspecials@gmail.com  This blog, Facebook, Twitter or any other social media network is not associated with this giveaway.

Monday, June 9, 2014

FREE Blogger Opp! – $100 Visa Gift Card Giveaway!






Blogger Sign up!





We are giving away 

       a



Visa GC $100



Info:
-2 Free links with announcement (Facebook, Twitter or Pinterest)

The announcement is required or you can pay $5.00 waiver fee

-Giveaway Date:  June 16 to June 30

-Co-host $10.00 (include)
  
10 Links (no google links or personal social media pages)


  2 Co-host pages
-Extra links $3.00 (up to 3 links)









Send payment to melisurveys1978@gmail.com

If you have any question, please email me at nysavingspecials@gmail.com











Friday, May 16, 2014

Honey Butter Fried Chicken (Chicago) Review




From the first time I heard those four words Honey Butter Fried Chicken I have wanted to visit that restaurant.  I finally got the chance while visiting Chicago on a very cold day in March 2014.  I made my way from my mom's house on the far south side to Honey Butter Fried Chicken on the northwest side of the city.

As I entered the restaurant I noticed it was packed with people.  There was also a long line for takeout orders.  I stood in the line trying to see the menu.  I finally decided on the four piece meal.  I saw the price and was a bit shocked, but I decided to get the buttermilk biscuit and a side of kale and cabbage slaw.  The price for all of that was $22.  I had to wait about 15 minutes for my meal, but I enjoyed the atmosphere and the staff were very friendly.

4 piece meal with corn muffins
It was a long trip home and I was very anxious to eat the food.  I had heard so many good things about it.  Finally home and I open the box.  I was surprised at how big the pieces were and that it was only white meat.  I share the meal with my dad.  Unfortunately the chicken got cold and I had to reheat it.  I put the honey butter on it.  It was good, crunchy and seasoned well. Probably would have been better right out of the pan.  Very pleased that the chicken was boneless. My dad loved the corn muffins that came with the chicken.  I thought the buttermilk biscuit was delicious.

Buttermilk Biscuit and Honey Butter

The kale and cabbage slaw was good and I loved the yogurt cumin dressing.  I would go to Honey Butter Fried Chicken again, but because it is a bit pricey it would be on special occasions.  I do want to try some of the brunch items.  My next trip to Chicago I will make it a priority to eat there again.  They give you plenty of honey butter.  I had enough left over to put on my toast and in my oatmeal. So good!

Kale and Cabbage Slaw with Pomegranates Yogurt Cumin Dressing


Honey Butter Fried Chicken is located at Located at 3361 N. Elston Ave. Chicago, IL 60618
(773) 478-4000.  Their hours are Wednesday, Thursday and Sunday 11am-9pm.. Friday and Saturday 11am-10pm. You can connect with them on Instragram, Twitter and Facebook!

Wednesday, May 7, 2014

Protein Bar (Chicago) Review



When I heard about the Protein Bar opening in Chicago I was anxious to visit.  I'm always excited to try a new restaurant and as a person who works out a lot, protein is very important to my diet.  We visited Chicago in March 2014.  I was able to get to Protein Bar two times.

Protein Bar was clean, very well lit, the wi-fi was great and the service fantastic! The first time I went there I tried the Guac N Roll. A Bar-rito filled with roasted chicken, veggies, and a cilantro lime dressing.  Satisfying meal!  It has 540 calories and 30 grams of protein!
Guac N Roll



The next time I went to Protein Bar I tried the Spinach and Pesto Bowl and the BGT Drink.  The Spinach and Pesto Bowl was a lot better than I thought it would be.  It has quinoa, basil pesto, roasted chicken, spinach and Parmesan cheese. The bowl is 480 calories and has a whopping 38 grams of protein.  The BGT Drink contains milk of your choice, I chose almond, Matcha Green Tea, vanilla whey protein and banana. The BGT Drink has 240 calories and 19 grams of protein.

Spinach and Pesto Bowl and BGT Drink



There are several locations open in Chicagoland.  Most of them are downtown Chicago. Hoping that they will expand to more neighborhoods. If not full restaurants maybe they could have Protein Bar Express restaurants located in grocery stores.  I think a partnership with Mariano's would be great!;-)

I highly recommend Protein Bar.  They are located around Chicagoland, Colorado and Washington DC. Check out their website and connect with them on Twitter and Facebook!

Wednesday, April 30, 2014

OneCoffee Review

I was walking past the Skytrain Commercial/Broadway stop in Vancouver while running errands.  I saw these people giving away boxes.  That's nothing new in that area because I've been there before and received free samples. This time they were giving away full boxes of OneCoffee.

I had never heard of OneCoffee before and I was kind of skeptical, but I took a box anyway.  Especially after I saw that I could use it in my Keurig.

Tried some immediately when I got home and was pleasantly surprised.  The coffee is delicious.  It's strong, but not overpowering.  Very smooth as well.  Great flavor!  OneCoffee is organic single-serve coffee.  The cups are biodegradable. Each cup is individually wrapped to ensure freshness. Then I realized it was Earth Day.  That's why they were giving out the free samples.  Perfect.

I will buy more OneCoffee when I'm done with this box.  You can buy OneCoffee at stores across Canada including Whole Foods and Buy-Low Foods.